Skip to content

Vitamin D3 Is Not Vegan

vit5

This blog post will walk you through: vitamin d3 is not vegan.

You Are Here

Ed Vitamin D In Our Diets?

Vitamin D keeps our bones healthy by helping to control the amount of calcium and phosphate in our bodies. It also appears to keep our muscles healthy too. However, in the UK, there are concerns that we do not make enough to keep our bones and muscles healthy.
It is recommended that all of us get some vitamin D from our diet during autumn and winter, and some of us may need a dietary intake all year round. When choosing a supplement, be aware that some types of vitamin D are not vegan-friendly. Vitamin D2 is always suitable for vegans, but vitamin D3 can be derived from an animal source (such as sheep’s wool) or lichen (a vegan-friendly source).
The Vegan Society markets a daily vitamin and mineral supplement designed for vegans called VEG 1, providing reliable intakes of vitamins B12 and D, iodine and selenium. Take-away tips

Check The Public Health Advice In Your Country – When Do You Need To Use A Vitamin D Supplement?

You can compare your diet to our guidelines using the free VNutrition app. These are general guidelines about nutrition.

How Most Vitamin D3 Is Made

Lanolin is added to many food and non-food products (e.g.
Barbaric practices like “mulesing” are widespread procedures, where a slice of flesh is carved off sheep in order to prevent infections from forming or festering. Summary Bottom line: Any wool product, including lanolin-derived vitamin D3, is not vegan.

Is Vitamin D Added To Fortified Foods Vegan?

You’ll like see that there’s vitamin D near the end of the ingredients list.
But most vegans and organizations like PETA and the Vegan Society say to not worry about it. It’s such a small amount, and it’s added to a lot of foods which can make it extremely difficult for some people to avoid. Summary Some vegans are okay with the small amount of animal-based vitamin D3 added to certain foods like cereal, while other vegans are not.

Which Cereals Have Vitamin D3?

This is far from a complete list, but here are some cereals I’ve looked at that have D3 in them:

Basically, if it’s a widely popular brand that you likely grew up with, it probably has vitamin D from an animal source in it. Otherwise, you should take some time to think about whether or not this will bother you.

Share This Post

Gan Diet

– Recommendations For Taking Vitamin D Supplements

– Why Can’T Vegans Take Some Supplements?

More than half a million people in the UK define themselves as vegans, and it’s a lifestyle that more and more people adopt every day for a range of motivations, whether it’s environmental, health-based or animal welfare related. Vegans refrain from eating or using animal-based products including meat, fish, dairy and eggs. Those on a vegan diet have to ensure that they get the nutrients typically found in these products from other sources.