Vitamin D3 Is It Vegan

If you’re here, then you probably Google’d: vitamin d3 is it vegan. We will do our best to answer this and many other similar questions in this article which should ease your mind regarding this subject.

You Are Here

Ed Vitamin D In Our Diets?

It also appears to keep our muscles healthy too. Some people say that vitamin D is not really a vitamin because we can make it when our skin is exposed to sunlight. It is recommended that all of us get some vitamin D from our diet during autumn and winter, and some of us may need a dietary intake all year round.
Considerations for vegans

It is difficult for anyone to get a daily vitamin D intake of 10mcg from food. Vitamin D2 is always suitable for vegans, but vitamin D3 can be derived from an animal source (such as sheep’s wool) or lichen (a vegan-friendly source). Take-away tips

Check The Public Health Advice In Your Country – When Do You Need To Use A Vitamin D Supplement?

Vegan supplements contain vitamin D3 from lichen or vitamin D2

Need More Information?

Read our detailed PDF. You can compare your diet to our guidelines using the free VNutrition app. These are general guidelines about nutrition.
If you have dietary concerns, please talk to your doctor about seeing a dietitian. Discussing the use of supplements with a health professional will help to ensure that they are suitable for you or your chil.

Vitamin D2 Vs D3

This not only makes the supplements suitable for vegans, but also cuts down the carbon produced during the production proces.

How Most Vitamin D3 Is Made

Most D3 is derived from oil in sheep’s wool (called lanolin). Barbaric practices like “mulesing” are widespread procedures, where a slice of flesh is carved off sheep in order to prevent infections from forming or festering.

Is Vitamin D Added To Fortified Foods Vegan?

Look at the box of Cheerios (or most cereals) and look at the nutritional facts.
Most cereals add vitamin B12, and often vitamin D along with it to fortify the food. Typically, this is a combination of plant-based D2 (not as useful for the body) and animal-based D3. Technically, no, if you’re a strict vegan.
It’s such a small amount, and it’s added to a lot of foods which can make it extremely difficult for some people to avoid. Almost all cereals are fortified, which means they typically have non-vegan D3 in them. Otherwise, you should take some time to think about whether or not this will bother you.

Leave a Comment